FAQ

What is the timeframe between the demand for your services and the arrival of a foreign worker to my company?

A safe estimate of the length of the process of hiring a foreign worker from the beginning of the application to the arrival of them within the company is between 14 and 26 weeks.

What type of employer can benefit from Collaboration Canada services?

Any type of employer, (whether in the pork, dairy, crop, berries, catering, manufacturing, etc.) sectors. All can take advantage of the services of Collaboration Canada and its expertise. All our employees are trilingual and will be able to respond adequately to the specific needs of the clients.

What are the different stages of the process?

The employer must show that he has tried unsuccessfully to find a Canadian worker who meets his criteria. It must also make an inspection of the building in which the worker will live and fill a LMIA form (Labour Market Impact Assessment). Each application is evaluated individually by the Department of Immigration, Diversity, and Inclusion (MIDI) and by Service Canada, both of which have final authority with respect to the application. Once approved, the worker preparation process can begin abroad.

How are the workers recruited?

Foreign workers are either recruited by their own government, or by on-site partners or external recruiters. They will have to pass physical and medical tests in order to satisfactorily meet the expectations of the client.

What are the wages, rights, and protections of workers?

Workers’ wages are set by the government authorities . In many cases, the wage rate approaches the minimum rate. In addition, the worker is subject to each province’s labour laws (labour standards, CSST, etc.). Workers are also covered by the public health insurance and can have private insurance.

Is the process costly?

The client’s company enjoys no subsidy or government assistance. Everything is the responsibility of the producer or business owner (airfare, lodging, visas, permits, and other charges). On the other hand, the worker will have to pay $120 per month for lodging in the agriculture segment, or a maximum of 30% of his monthly salary in the low-wage or high-wages segment. Everything is relative, but many producers and companies find their way by having a reliable and present workforce.

What language do the workers speak?

Other than in rare exceptions, workers speak only Spanish, and some have a basic command of English, hence the importance of having some basic ability in these languages. We offer translation services if necessary because all of our employees speak French, English, and Spanish. Private lessons are also available.

How is the transport of workers being made?

Air transport is carried out directly through our affiliated travel agency. Usually, the producer will pick up the worker directly at the airport, but we also offer airport transportation services to the farm or to your business.

Where the workers comes from?

Our workers come mainly from Guatemala, Mexico, Honduras and Colombia. 

Advertisements

FAQ

Quel est le délai à prévoir entre la demande de vos services et la venu d’un travailleur étranger au sein de mon entreprise ?

Il faut compter entre 14 et 26 semaines pour être confortable dans le temps de processus d’embauche d’un travailleur étranger du début de la demande à l’arrivée de celui-ci au sein de l’entreprise.

Quel type d’employeur peut bénéficier des services de Collaboration Canada ?

Tout type d’employeur, (que ce soit dans le secteur porcin, laitier, grandes cultures, petits fruits, la restauration, le domaine manufacturier, etc…) tous peuvent se prémunir des services de Collaboration Canada et de son expertise. Tous nos employés sont trilingues et sauront répondre adéquatement aux besoins spécifiques des clients.

Quels sont les différentes étapes du processus ?

L’employeur doit démontrer qu’en vain des efforts effectués, il ne peut trouver un travailleur québécois répondant à ses critères. Il doit aussi faire une inspection du bâtiment dans lequel habitera le travailleur ainsi que remplir un EIMT, (Étude d’Impact sur le Marché du Travail). Chaque demande est évaluée individuellement par le ministère de l’Immigration, de la Diversité et de l’Inclusion (MIDI) et par Service Canada, qui possèdent tous deux l’autorité finale à l’égard de la demande. Une fois celui-ci approuvé, le processus de préparation du travailleur peut commencer à l’étranger.

Comment sont recrutés les travailleurs ?

Les travailleurs étrangers sont soit recrutés par leur propre gouvernement, soit par des partenaires sur place ou des recruteurs externes. Ils devront passer des tests physiques et médicaux afin de bien répondre aux attentes des clients.

Quels sont les salaires, droits et protections des travailleurs ?

Le salaire des travailleurs est fixé par les instances gouvernementales (MIDI). Dans plusieurs cas, il s’approche du taux de salaire minimum. De plus, le travailleur est assujetti aux lois québécoises du travail (Normes du travail, CSST, etc.). Il est également couvert par le régime public d’assurance maladie et bénéficie d’une assurance privée.

Le processus est-il coûteux ?

L’entreprise ne bénéficie d’aucune subvention ni aide gouvernementale. Tout est à la charge du producteur (billet d’avion, logement, visas, permis et autre frais). Par contre, le travailleur devra débourser 120$ par mois pour se loger. Tout est relatif mais de nombreux producteurs et entreprises y trouvent leur compte en ayant une main d’oeuvre fiable et présente.

Les travailleurs parlent quel langue ?

Sauf en de rares exceptions, les travailleurs ne s’expriment qu’en espagnol d’où  l’importance d’avoir quelques notions de base dans cette langue. Nous offrons le service de traduction en cas de besoin du fait que tous nos employés parlent le français, l’anglais et l’espagnol. Des cours privés sont aussi disponibles.

Comment s’effectue le transport des travailleurs ?

Le transport aérien est directement effectué avec notre Agence de voyage affilié. Habituellement, le producteur ira chercher directement le travailleur à l’aéroport mais nous offrons également le service de transport de l’aéroport à la ferme ou à votre entreprise.

Quel est la provenance des travailleurs ?

Nos travailleurs viennent principalement du Guatemala, du Mexique, du Honduras et de la Colombie.